MLK Week 2024

Collage of Martin Luther King Jr.

The Office of Diversity and Inclusion presents a week-long celebration of the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Events are designed to facilitate both reflection and action toward a better appreciation of and respect for the dignity of every person. While each of us has the power to make a difference ourselves, we can make the biggest impact when we work together.

Upcoming Events

Fulfilling The Dream Award

The Chancellor's Fulfilling the Dream Award was established in 1997 to honor individuals who have contributed to the university community or the wider Lincoln community by their exemplary action in promoting the goals and vision of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The awards are presented each January during ceremonies at the university's celebration of the Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday.

Learn More

MLK in Lincoln

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. spoke to an audience of 5,000 people at the Methodist Student Movement Conference in Lincoln, Nebraska on December 30, 1964. His speech at the Perishing Center was titled, “Christian Responsibility in the Racial Revolution. You can still listen to the recording of that historic moment in Lincoln Nebraska.

Listen to the Recording

2023 MLK Committee Members

The MLK Week planning committee is a cross-campus collaboration of individuals and units seeking to serve our community by commemorating the legacy of Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. We appreciate the contribution or each person and the commitment to social justice and inclusive excellence at Nebraska.


Nkenge Friday - Office of Diversity and Inclusion (chair)
Germán Ávila - Office of Diversity and Inclusion
Andrew Brown - Student Affairs (sub-committee chair)
Lauren Becwar - University Communications
Lawrence Chatters - Athletics
Dawne Curry - Institute on Ethnic Studies
Taylor DeMaro - University Communication (sub-committee chair)
Catherine Wilson - Chancellors Commission on the Status of People of Color
Charlie Foster - Office of Diversity and Inclusion (sub-committee chair)
Letty Garcia - Office of Diversity and Inclusion
Jocelyn Gordon - College of Agricultural Science and Natural Resource
Jerri Harner - Office of Diversity and Inclusion
Quinna Hogan - Student Affairs
Georgia Jones - Chancellor’s Commission on the Status of People of Color
Christina Kirk - Carson School of Theatre and Film
Jane Schiermeyer - Lied Center
Lauren Silverman Durban - Lied Center
Karen Wills - University Program Council (sub-committee chair)
Jody Wood - Institutional Equity and Compliance

Student Representatives
ASUN Student Government
Afrikan Peoples Union (APU)
Asian Student Union (ASU)
Black Student Union (BSU)
Mexican American Student Association (MASA)
National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC)
University of Nebraska Inter-Tribal Exchange (UNITE)

Community Members
Peter Ferguson (Lincoln Public Schools)