Fulfilling the Dream Awards


Submissions for this form are closed.

Established in 1997, these awards honor individuals who have contributed to the university community or the greater Lincoln community through their exemplary action in promoting the goals and vision of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Candidates, or organizations, who qualify for this award take part in actions that lead to addressing and changing racist and unjust practices, policies and behaviors and influence and encourage their community to do the same.

Qualities Embodied by Nominee

Individuals or organizations leading in social justice work, inclusive excellence and influencing change in our community. 

Who is Eligible

Students, faculty, staff, clubs/groups and organizations are eligible to receive the Chancellor's Fulfilling the Dream award. Two awards will be granted this year to individuals or organizations within the university and Lincoln communities.

Who Can Nominate

Nominations can be submitted by students, faculty, staff, alumni and the greater Lincoln community. 

Nominations for 2024 Fulfilling the Dream Awards closes November 27, 2023

Past Recipients
  • 2023 - Lory Dance (community) and Dulce Garcia (UNL)
  • 2022 - Judi gaiashkibos (community) and Batool Ibrahim (UNL)
  • 2021 - Leonard Yankton (community) and Helen Fagan (UNL)
  • 2020 - Anna Shavers (UNL)
  • 2019 - Maura Kelly (community) and Charlesette Foster (UNL)
  • 2018 - Eric Buchanan (community) and John Kalu Osiri (UNL)
  • 2017 - Karen Kassebaum (UNL)
  • 2016 - Debra Hope (UNL)
  • 2015 - Linda and Gene Crump (UNL) and the Empowerment Network (community)
  • 2014 - Jake Kirkland, Jr. (UNL)
  • 2013 - Pat Tetreault (UNL)
  • 2012 - Zainab Al-baaj and the MENA Hope Project (community) and African American and African Studies Program (UNL)
  • 2011 - T.J. McDowell (community) and Charlene Maxey-Harris (UNL)
  • 2010 - Nebraska Appleseed (community) and Helen Moore (UNL)
  • 2009 - Pete Ferguson (community) and Students United for Nebraska (UNL)
  • 2008 - Gwendolyn Combs (UNL)
  • 2007 - Oscar Harriot (community) and Christy Horn (UNL)
  • 2006 - Larry Williams (community) and Amber Hunter (UNL)
  • 2005 - Thomas Christie (community) and Chuck van Rossum (UNL)
  • 2004 - Jose Soto (community) and Stephanie Adams (UNL)
  • 2003 - Leroy Stokes (community) and Robert Hitchcock (UNL)
  • 2002 - Bonnie Coffey (community) and Merlin Lawson (UNL)
  • 2001 - Paulette Jones (community) and Michael Combs (UNL)
  • 2000 - Lela Shanks (community) and Melvin Jones (UNL)
  • 1999 - Leola Bullock (community) and Miguel Carranza (UNL)
  • 1998 - Keith Parker (UNL)

Contact us with questions